Devon Apple Cake

Proper baking again, finally!

Today, I decided to bring the taste of Devon into my home. So, 2 new friends – ground Saigon cinnamon and mixed spices – joined my baking cupboard crew to make this happen! Very exciting!

Dad and Mom bought me a small recipe book during their trip to Devon, called “Favourite Devonshire Recipes”, in there is this Devon Apple Cake recipe, and this was what I decided to try my hands on today.

The aroma of the spices and apple together worked magic! I bet better than drug! I could smell Christmas! (You can tell I’m a bit high from smelling the spices I’m sure =P)

This is a healthy (i.e. not too much butter/sugar to make me feel too guilty to bake it) and easy-to-make cake. A perfect tea cake flavoured with a classic combination of apple and cinnamon.

The whole family sat round the table to sip Whittard’s strawberry tea and enjoyed my freshly baked Devonish cake. A great simple afternoon indeed.

This entry was posted in The Year It All Begins and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment